Sweden - Charging per Driven Kilometer

Date: 06 November, 2014

Charging for the driven kilometers is now being discussed in Sweden as a policy of the new government. So far in Sweden there has only been the Eurovignette system. But now the government wants to introduce charging for driven kilometer, for all commercial vehicles not only Swedish.


Transport and Logistics Conference 2014 in Oslo

The annual Transport and Logistics conference was held Oct 20-21 near Oslo with participation by the Norwegian Road Haulers Organization (NLF) as well as Nordic Logistics Association (NLA). Among the main issues discussed at the conference was the desire of the Norwegian government to get more freight transport by sea and rail. However, this requires more effective solutions that promote so-called "seamless" coordination between rail, road and sea. Speakers emphasized that given that transport of goods will increase the coming years, transport modes should not compete against each other, but rather interact to create an effective system that will make Norway as a country more competitive. Efficient and sustainable intermodal modes of transport play a major role in achieving this.


Annual Meeting at Sveriges Åkeriföretag

At the annual meeting of the Swedish road transport companies the members had a thorough and engaged debate on the future of Swedish road transport. In situation of more tough competition and more complicated and complex business environement, the Swedish road hauliers looked forward.

A major initiative is the campaign for Fair Transport, where companies can subscribe to a commitment to run a company based on respect for climate, environment, social conditions and road safety. The transport buyers shall feel comfortable choosing a company committed to these objectives.

The meeting also discussed issues such as vocational training, high-capacity vehicles, road charging, road safety, control and enforcement.

Swedish road transport companies chose their board for the coming year. Mr Mikael Nilsson remains as President of the board.